End of an era: leaving my job, and what is next

Last Friday was the last day at SURFnet. I worked there for over 4 years. I had a great time, learned a lot and met a lot of interesting and nice people. Most important: the colleagues were amazing! I’m really gonna miss them badly. It doesn’t quite register yet, seems too strange to be true. However, judging from other people who left SURFnet it seems you can check out anytime you like, but you can never leave. So it probably won’t be the last time I set foot in the building🙂

sn_exits

As for my plans now, I’ll be visiting a friend in Germany later this week for relaxing a bit and then travel on to my favorite city, Berlin, after the weekend for more relaxing, probably meet some people involved with the Unhosted project, and visit some of the museums I didn’t get around to visiting my previous times in Berlin. Also if it is not too cold I’ll go running at Tempelhof airport again, amazing place! Oh, and of course try to go to Freitag Salon with Evgeny Morozov.

After that, when Christmas and New Years are over, my plan is to go to Hackerbeach, Kenia in January to both relax in the sun and sea before looking into occupy.here and to see what can be done in combination with the awesome WakaWaka solar panel my colleagues got me when I left SURFnet, in addition to the notebook sleeve so I will remember them. Awesome:

tenfrus_presents

I may also start working again on some Unhosted projects like remoteStorage and SocketHub to save the world from the evil big data collectors🙂

As for my next job. I already have some ideas, but I really want to go travel first and see (part of) the world. Currently my plan is to go to Thailand, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Australia, New Zealand, Japan and maybe China. I’ll probably save Canada and Russia for later. But, the plans are fluid. Anything is possible and everything can change🙂

This is the first post in what I hope a regular log of my travels and activities. Feel free to suggest places that require visiting and things to see🙂

Leave a Reply

